Struck down

So this past week (week number 3 of the exercise regime) has been a complete bust. I’ve been struck down by a cold and a cough which has resulted in me feeling completely lacklustre and unmotivated. I did one high intensity workout last Monday and THAT WAS IT. Disgraceful.

This is the recurring pattern I experience. Usually about two weeks of super-motivated exercising and then it all goes a bit kaput. So let’s ignore week three and chalk it up to an illness. Moving on! I read somewhere last week (probably on Instagram, I’ve become obsessed with following inspirational weightloss journeys and reading about how well other people are doing, and seeing how god damn dedicated they are) that weightloss is 25% exercise and 75% food. Now this makes sense. That first week I was working out tirelessly and didn’t get the result I wanted. But to go along with the exercise, I was eating a hella lot of bad stuff. So, announcement time. Today is day one of the 5:2 diet! Waheyyyy. How jolly exciting. So let’s stop getting so physical and start getting some self-control over food shall we? Obviously it goes without saying that I missed my 7am gym trip this morning (I have a semi-legitimate excuse here: I was woken in the middle of the night by the on call phone and I was coughing the rest of the time so basically I didn’t get a single wink of sleep). However, I did go swimming yesterday and I did so many lengths I’m feeling the burn today, so maybe later I’ll squeeze in a high intensity workout to boost myself up for the week. Start as I mean to go on! I’m quite glad my fast days aren’t until Wednesday and Thursday this week….I’ll decrease portion sizes for three days so they won’t be such a shock to the system when the food stops going in.

Oh, and before I forget. Today was weigh-in day and yes, I lost 2lbs! Shock. Maybe it was being ill? So I’m now standing firm at 17st8lbs. If I stick at this diet I’m pretty confident that I can smash through the 17st marker by Valentine’s Day. However, that will involve some super discipline. So we’ll see how it all goes…

 

x

Leave a comment